14 – beast

20170207_082249-01.jpeg

So my new-to-me phone is a beast: LG V10 – 5.7″ quad-HD primary screen, 2.1″ secondary screen, SD-808 processor, 4GB RAM, 64GB storage, expandable storage, removable battery, MIL-STD 810G drop resistance, fingerprint sensor, NFC, 802.11AC, built-in ESS Sabre DAC (to truly drive my Sennheiser HD-555 cans)…

The sensor is slightly bigger than the sensor of my Pentax Q10! I took the picture above with the V10, and edited with Snapseed.

Suffice it to say, I’m still adjusting to having a huge phone (again) and speed. It’s blazing fast. The quad-HD screen is bright and usable (unlike the LG G3 screen, which was dim), and the audio output is amazing and has made sitting at my desk at work considerably more tolerable (I have a greater appreciation for acoustic music now that I can hear things so clearly). Unfortunately, all of the speed and screen and HiFi audio positively drain the battery. I now plug in my phone when I’m at my desk, which isn’t a big deal.

I’m also finding the fingerprint sensor to be quite handy. I was firmly under the belief that a fingerprint sensor is unnecessary, but after using it for a few days, it’s quite handy and a fast way to unlock the phone.

Needless to say, I had to sell the Pentax DA 40/2.8 Limited to get this phone and I think that for my needs, it was worth it.

The Motorola G4 Play is a backup phone now…and it was a good bridge phone to get me back into relearning how to use a non-rooted phone. I found some apps and tweaks that allowed me to use an ad-free Android experience, and I’m bringing those lessons-learned to the V10. Not being rooted gives me the added benefit of using Android Pay – which unfortunately, I haven’t had the opportunity to really use yet…

 

Leave a Reply

