07 – catharsis. again.

I have traded camera gear. again.

I traded my Pentax K-3 body for a Pentax K-S2 with Pentax DA Limited 40/2.8 lens. I also sold my Pentax DA 35/2.4, and rather than getting new camera gear to replace the 35/2.4, I went ahead and upgraded all of the speakers for my Civic in order to complement the recent head unit upgrade.

In the end, my out-of-pocket costs were for the shipping of two packages to Florida, and then around ten bucks for the difference in price for speakers.

What did I lose? I lost 200 grams, 4 Megapixels, 16 focus points, dual SD card slots, and an effective 52mm FoV.

What did I gain? WiFi and NFC connectivity (for remote shooting), a fold-out LCD screen, a pancake lens with an effective 60mm FoV, and hopefully, much clearer sound reproduction for my laughable commute.

I really didn’t need 24 Megapixels. I didn’t need 27 focus points (I realistically just used the single center focus point). I didn’t need dual card slots. I didn’t need a pancake lens either, but hey, including the 40/2.8 Limited lens with the K-S2 brought some parity to the trade, since the K-3 was worth a lot. Luckily, both the K-3 and the K-S2 are weatherproof, and when combined with the DA 18-50 lens, the K-S2 will make the perfect combo for our galavanting through the snow in Big Bear this weekend!

Anyway, here’s a picture of my daughter getting frustrated with the Chromebook:

imgp4370.jpg

Yes, I’m equally frustrating when it comes to gear. Photography gear comes and goes in this house. If I spent the same amount of time with trading stocks, I’d probably be better off financially, but I’ll be honest, I enjoy trading gear. I enjoy bargaining and bartering. It makes me happy – and it’s one of the few vices I can indulge in without hurting anyone, without gaining useless calories, and without having to post bail.

My camera kit is described below, along with some genealogy regarding the piece of kit:

  • Pentax K-S2 body: I traded my K-3 for this, which was acquired as a trade for a Fuji X100s, which was acquired when I sold my m4/3 kit
  • Pentax DA 40/2.8 Limited lens: included with the K-S2
  • Pentax DAL 18-50/4-5.6 lens: I sold my Vivitar 7/3.5 fisheye for this, which was a birthday present to myself
  • Sigma 50/2.8 macro lens: I sold my Pentax DA 10-17/3.5-4.5 and Pentax DA 50/1.8 for this, which was purchased after selling the DA* 16-50/2.8 and Pentax DA 50/1.8, both of which came with the K-3
  • Pentax Q10 with 02 (5-15mm lens): I traded my Tamron 18-200/3.5-6.3 lens for this, which was purchased after selling the Pentax DA 10-17/3.5-4.5 and DA 50/1.8

Whatever extraneous funds from selling/trading also ended up in getting a Vivoactive running watch, new speakers for my car, a chromebook (I traded a flash for it), and a bunch of other crap (there were some other lenses and achromat diopters that I got, but eventually, sold again). Anyway, here’s a picture of a cuppa tea to ease that frustration:

imgp4362.jpg

Sometimes, I frustrate myself because I really don’t need this camera gear. My pictures have grown more and more mundane on a daily basis, and new-to-me gear isn’t going to change that. I need to get out more. I need to bring the camera(s) everywhere with me…but at the same time, I’m trying to live the moment and not worry so much on capturing the moment. It’s a dichotomy, and it’s not sweet at all (at least not as sweet as this picture of stroopwafel, perfectly warmed by sitting on top of my mint tea:

imgp4377.jpg

When I went to France last year, I had to pass through Amsterdam, so while I was at the airport, I picked up licorice, chocolates, and several boxes of stroopwafel. The stroopwafel is awesome – waaaaay better than the stuff we get at Trader Joes. I’m spoiled actually, because I don’t know where to get real stroopwafel here in the US, and I’m actually contemplating how I can justify a trip back to France just so I can get my hands on more stroopwafel…

Leave a Reply

