29 -G.A.S.

I suffered from a bit of Gear Acquisition Syndrome (G.A.S.) recently.

It started when I bought myself a manual fisheye lens for my birthday – and as awesome as the lens was, dare I say it…it was too wide for me. I just couldn’t find a suitable scenario where that lens would have given me anything useful. So after a few weeks, I sold it…and got the Pentax DA 18-50/4-5.6 retractable water-resistant lens instead. Pictures below, in Bold Monochrome:

wp-1483137704297.jpg

wp-1483137709269.jpg

This is an awesome lens. It’s sharp wide-open, it’s weatherproof, and it’s compact. This will make a great travel and all-in-one lens to complement lots of upcoming family trips and events next year.

I also did some trading and traded my Tamron 18-200/3.5-6.3 superzoom lens for a Pentax Q10 with 5-15/2.8-4.5 lens. I won’t have any excuses to not have a camera with me anymore because this camera is positively tiny.

_img3345

For reference, that’s my tiny Motorola G4 Play phone with a 5″ display.

I don’t expect SLR-quality resolution, sharpness, or optical precision with the Q10 – but I do expect a a modicum of fun and creativity…and it will make a great travel companion for business travel. The Q10 has a sweet quick setting knob – everything is set for JPEG output, but with different filters applied (setting 1 is for my favorite Bold Monochrome output).

 

I ended last year with the following kit:

  • Olympus OM-D EM5
  • Sigma 19/2.8
  • Olympus 45/1.8
  • Olympus 40-150/4-5.6
  • Olympus 35/3.5 macro (with 4/3-t0 m4/3 adapter)
  • Olympus FL-36R flash

I then got rid of EVERYTHING and moved to a Fuji X100s, then got rid of that and moved to Pentax…So, I’m ending 2016 with the following camera kit:

  • Pentax K-3 SLR
    • Pentax DA 18-50/4-5.6
    • Pentax DA 35/2.4
    • Sigma 50/2.8 macro
  • Pentax Q10 compact mirrorless camera
    • Pentax Q 02 lens (5-15/2.8-4.5)

The K-3 and three lenses fit in the Crumpler 3MDH camera bag. The Q10 and lens fit in a small pouch, which fits inside any bag. So much for my supposed 2-lens kit in 2017…though truth be told, the 35/2.4 is still up for sale on PentaxForums. I’ve gotten a few bites, but not enough that I’d sell it.

Leave a Reply

