22 – More Edits

I decided to switch to another Linux distro since RawTherapee was pretty slow when using Linux Mint with Cinnamon – so, I switched to Ubuntu MATE 16.10, which has a considerably lighter front-end. Downside is that I had to manually reinstall RawTherapee from command-line, which didn’t come with native support. Anyway, on to my edits:

_img2593-1

_img2598

I’m really a fan of the HaldCLUT film emulations and I keep going back to a low-ISO Fuji Velvia and an ISO-400 Kodak T-Max, as depicted in the two pictures above and below.

_img2656

_img2635

I’ve also decided that early next year, I’ll sell the Pentax DA 35/2.4 and likely the Tamron 18-200/3.5-6.3 lenses. I’m going to focus on mastering the Sigma 50/2.8 macro and my new-to-me Vivitar 7/3.5 fisheye lens.

_img2833

Yes…I know. I keep going back to fisheyes. My first lens purchase for the Pentax system was the DA 10-17/3.5-4.5 fisheye zoom, but I always felt that it was more a 10mm prime since I hardly ever used any other focal length. So, I sold it. Anyway, the Vivitar 7/3.5 is basically the Rokinon 8/3.5 that is pretty well-renowned, but rebadged. Same focal length, so don’t believe the hype. It’s sharp from f/5.6 to about f/11. I haven’t tried anything past f/11.

As a manual lens, there’s no AF, so I have to eyeball the focus using the distance scale…and for someone with very poor depth perception…it’s a bit difficult.

However, I do get auto-aperture control, so this makes handling the lens a lot more fun.

_img2784

_img2624

_img2527

For the most part though, I’m going to challenge myself with sticking with the Sigma 50/2.8 macro.

When I shot Olympus, the ZD 35/3.5 lens was my favorite lens: nice tight field of view, hella sharp wide-open, compact, and does 1:1 macro. The Sigma 50/2.8 is all of these things…but just a bit tighter with the APS-C crop (75mm FOV vs 70mm FOV).

So, I’ll have a two-lens kit next year.

Leave a Reply

