18 – G.A.S.

The past few weeks, I have been suffering from GAS – Gear Acquisition Syndrome – which has kept my Pentax kit in a state of constant flux.

Anyway, it all started when I sold the DA* 16-50/2.8, which left me with just a single DA 50/1.8 lens. The proceeds from that sale went to purchase a DA 10-17/3.5-4.5 zoom, which went with me on a business trip to France.

imgp1244.jpg

imgp1251.jpg

I have owned a fisheye lens in every format, and sure enough, once the honeymoon is over, the marriage doesn’t last. I mean, it did take amazing shots up close to capture a lot of context:

imgp1323.jpg

img1422.jpg

imgp1420.jpg

But at the end of the day, a fisheye zoom isn’t really all that useful.

While I was in France, having only an uber-wide lens and a short telephoto had me yearning for a convenient ‘do-it-all’ lens, so I picked up a Tamron 18-200/3.5-6.3 superzoom lens (amazingly cheap from Adorama’s used photo department). This lens, when used properly, can yield some really good shots, especially from far away.

img1445.jpg

imgp1413.jpg

img1444.jpg

Obviously, all of these taken indoors, but processed in-camera with the K3’s B&W filters. I’m really digging the look the filter provides.

Anyway, what I was really missing was a macro lens which provided 1:1 magnification. I had been using the DA 50/1.8 with the Raynox DCR-250 attached for a quasi-macro. I even tried the Raynox with the Tamron 18-200, at the long end, and that yielded some ok results.

imgp1358.jpg

But a deal for a Sigma 50/2.8 macro lens showed up on KEH’s eBay outlet store, so I picked that up…and once again, I have a 1:1 macro lens at around 75mm FoV (similar to my favorite ZD 35/3.5 macro). With screw-drive focusing, the Sigma lens focuses FAST…and thanks to a focus limiter switch, even faster when using the lens for non-macro use.

img1596.jpg

img1714.jpg

img1647.jpg

img1707.jpg

img1661.jpg

Yes, we went to the OC International Auto Show today…and unfortunately, the new Mazda MX-5 RF was behind a velvet rope and was off-limits…but I was ogling it and totally drooling uncontrollably.

Anyway, the Sigma 50/2.8 is also an awesome macro lens:

img1589.jpg

img1697.jpg

Obligatory selfies – the bottom one taken by my daughter with the ring light (the catch light perfectly lines up with my iris).

I haven’t finished suffering from GAS yet. I have the DA 35/2.4 inbound. It should arrive sometime next week.

Leave a Reply

