8 – relearning

After having used 4/3 and m4/3 cameras for so long, I got quite accustomed to the workflow, the limitations of each sensor, and how to work around them. I had dabbled with Sony NEX for a while and didn’t quite get along with the output, which caused me to briefly return to m4/3 again – only to make a 100% switch to a Fuji X100s.

In any case, my kids have been the unwilling test subjects while I reconfigure the X100s so I can learn to make it a transparent tool…

FUJI9279 (Large)

So, this is what I’ve done so far.

First, I created three presets on the X100s.

  • High contrast B&W (because I love high contrast B&W)
  • Velvia (for punchy shots)
  • Standard (for normal shots)

I access the presets with the Q button and can easily switch them as needed.

Second, I set the Fn button to engage the ND filter. In sunny southern California, the ND filter has definitely proven its worth.

FUJI9403 (Large)

Third, I cleaned up the OVF and EVF to only display the items I need to see. This makes composition so much easier.

I’m discovering that parallax is definitely not something I like, so I’m probably alternating between the EVF and the OVF fifty percent of the time. Having an OVF is awesome though, since it means that I can still compose while wearing polarized sunglasses. This was always a problem with the OMD EM5 (and probably will be a problem for any camera with an EVF): whenever shooting in portrait orientation, the EVF and the LCD are useless.

I haven’t really used the LCD for composing outside yet. I’ve used it a few times for macro, and honestly, I’m disappointed in the macro capabilities. I knew it wouldn’t match the 1:1 magnification level of my ZD 35/3.5 macro lens, but macro sharpness is not ideal…but then again, the Fuji lens is *not* a macro lens. I just need to manage my expectations better.

Fourth, I enabled RAW/JPEG mode – not that I’ve post-processed the RAW shots yet. I don’t know if I will, especially since each RAW file is a whopping 32 MB! WTF. Why is the RAW file so huge? I may actually switch to JPEG-only again. I’m quite pleased with the jpeg engine of the X100s and I haven’t had a need to process any of my keepers, other than resizing for the Interwebs.

Fifth, I bought a Lensmate thumbgrip – this does truly help with holding the X100s. I really don’t know if I like the leather half-case that came with the X100s. It looks awesome and will probably provide sufficient protection, but I really don’t like the lack of grip on the front. I did get rid of the unwieldy wrist strap that came with the camera. It’s nice and I’m sure it’s expensive, but my Op-Tech finger strap works just fine.

Sixth, I picked up a Crumpler 3MDH again. I had sold my three Crumpler bags about a month ago, but realized that I really like the handling of the 3MDH, so I picked up a new one for dirt cheap on eBay. The X100s in the leather half case with thumb grip is a perfect fit inside along with the Trek Tek T’Pod and batteries and whatnot. I didn’t like the other bags that I had because they all had zippers with flaps; the 3MDH has velcro, which I’ve tucked away, so it’s just the flap with buckle. This makes it easier to take the camera out and put it back in.

That’s it for now. When there’s an opportunity for a good photowalk or outing, I’ll be sure to bring the X100s. So far though, it’s just been the usual routine of parks and playgrounds.

Leave a Reply

