26 – rain

032 (Medium)

So November brought rain to our backyard – though calling it rain would be a stretch for anyone outside of Southern California. I’m amazed ‘they’ didn’t declare “stormwatch 2014” when it started drizzling while we were trick-or-treating on Halloween. My kids certainly panicked though – as soon as a bit of drizzle started falling, they said, “daddy, it’s raining – I think we’d better head home.” We did head home anyway, but mostly because it was getting late.

I swear, most of the time, I love living in Irvine, but sometimes, the neighborhood and the residents (us included) collectively result in my kids acting like entitled gremlins – basically, they have all of their needs and desires met (thank you, parents and Irvine) and they can’t be fed after midnight or get wet or be exposed to bright light (again – thank you, parents and Irvine).

Though truth be told, I’m 100% guilty of coddling my kids. We’re definitely loosening the reigns as they get older though, but I don’t think I could provide a childhood for my kids similar to the childhood that I experienced…it’s a different time and a different place and unfortunately, as safe as Irvine is in 2014, I don’t think it’s any friendlier than Galveston, TX between 1984 and 1992.

Would I go back to Galveston to raise my kids? Oh, hell nooooo. Would I go back to the 1980’s and raise my kids? If I can bring car seats, boxer briefs, and the Internet, then most definitely yes.

***

Now for the esoteric bits: raindrop picture taken with my Sony NEX 3N with Sigma 30/2.8 using a combination of 10mm and 16mm extension tubes for macro focusing; crop and light post-processing in LR5, resized for the Interwebs. ISO 250, f/7.1, 1/50.

Leave a Reply

