21 – guy trip and changes

My college friends and I finally conquered our first annual guy trip in Big Sur. We kept it classy and nobody got physically hurt as a result of the trip, so I think we succeeded.

All but one of the shots below were taken with my Olympus E-3 and Sigma 10-20/4-5.6 UWA lens. Let me tell you – it took some dedication to lug around a 5 pound camera and tripod on a 7-mile hike. The first two shots below couldn’t have been easily done without a tripod.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

594 (Medium)Anyway, I lugged along my ENTIRE camera kit for the trip – two Olympus dSLR’s with four lenses and one Panasonic mirrorless camera with a fast 20/1.7 lens…and I only used the latter once (the shot of the glass of scotch and the playing cards) and realistically only used my UWA lens with my dSLR.

Upon returning home, I reassessed my kit. I sent off the spare dSLR body and the UWA lens to KEH (the UWA lens was bought specifically for this trip). I sold off the Panasonic GF-1 and 20/1.7. I even sent my big Tamrac camera bag to B&H.

To replace the mirrorless camera, I now have a Sony NEX 3N with kit 16-50 (a seller on FredMiranda had a great deal and I swept it up). The NEX 3N is a great small camera that doubles as a video camera (kit 16-50 is a motorized zoom and is optimized for video).

So the NEX 3N came out in 2013 and comes with Sony’s latest and greatest APS-C sensor and BIONZ X processing – and after coming from 4/3’s and m4/3’s – I can see what all the fuss was about. APS-C produces much cleaner images even at ISO 6400. Additionally, the NEX 3N has a lot of convenient in-camera processing – like my favorite high contrast B&W filter.

179 (Medium)It also does “sweep-panorama” and processes it in-camera.

034 (Medium)And pictures, even with the kit lens, are sharp and detailed.

159 (Medium)The NEX 3N also has an articulating screen that makes waist-level shots so much easier. No viewfinder though, but it has a great “outdoor sunlight” mode that increases the brightness and contrast on the screen for better visibility.

Anyway, I’m probably going to keep my 4/3 Olympus kit with the E-3, 14-54/2.8-3.5, 40-150/3.5-4.5, and 35/3.5 macro and won’t be adding any more. The dSLR kit will be my go-to for creative shots and for those rare occasions when the act of photography is 50% of the primary objective.

Otherwise, the ‘daily’ shooter will be the NEX 3N.

I’m looking to reacquire the original Sigma 30/2.8 for the NEX – in APS-C, the FOV would be equivalent to about 45mm, which gets me close to the ZD 25/2.8 pancake’s 50mm FOV (yeah – I got rid of the pancake too). I owned the Sigma 30/2.8 for m4/3 but found the focal length a bit too long at 60mm.

Also, I want to get some cheap macro extension tubes with AF for the NEX. I’m hoping that the credit I get at B&H for the bag would cover the extension tubes.

Anyway, changes. What fun is photography and the gear that goes with it if no change is involved?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

