17 – remorse

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have buyer’s remorse…the bargain Rokinon 8mm f/3.5 fisheye lens that I bought was a dud. What I thought was super sharp was really only nominally sharp…and even after attempting to calibrate the focus at all apertures, there was no uniform sharpness that was similar to the Samyang 7.5mm f/3.5 lens that I had with m4/3.

😦

So, I sent it back to Amazon this morning. I returned it for a refund, though I could have just sold it back as a used item and profited $50, however, my wife reminded me that I’m teasing camera karma by potentially giving a bad lens to someone else, so I thought better of it. I’m constantly buying and selling camera gear, and most of the time, I’ve been on the better end of the deal – no need to ruin that momentum just to gain an advantage.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In any case, these are the last few pictures from a day outing that I processed in Lightroom. It was difficult to take these pictures because as I indicated in my last post, I should have been able to use hyperfocal distance to get everything in focus, but I was never able to do this…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After shooting with the lens for a few outings, I realized that I really miss having an ultrawide lens. The change in perspective is so refreshing. Ironically, before I sold off all of my kit to move on to different things, I owned the Olympus 9-18 f/4-5.6 and the Olympus 11-22 f/2.8-3.5, both of which are fine lenses. It’s sad – when I had all of this gear, I didn’t really know what I was doing, but now that I’ve sold it all off – I know what I’m doing now and I know how to post-process to get exactly what I want.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just like the playground above – several years ago, I had so much gear to play with yet I didn’t know what to do with it…so I sold it off.

In any case, there’s remorse. Buyer’s remorse that I bought all the gear…seller’s remorse that I sold off the gear…

But I learned a lot from it all. Come to think of it, with my kit now, I’m probably just fine. I guess what I really need to do is just to love what I have and stop lusting after what I don’t have.

Stop visiting photography forums.

Start taking pictures.

Start capturing moments.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

