16 – ultrawide

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I missed having an ultra-wide angle lens, but luckily, I scored an AWESOME deal on the Rokinon 8mm f/3.5 fisheye lens on Amazon recently. It’s a bit more difficult shooting with a manual fisheye with the E3 compared to shooting with a manual fisheye (the Samyang 7.5/3.5 fisheye) on m4/3 – namely, with m4/3, I could zoom in to an image during live view to check for focus. I can’t do this with 4/3.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also, I can’t seem to get hyperfocal distance correct on the lens. Either that, or I’m just not doing it correctly. At 8mm with 4/3 and f/8, I’m supposed to be good with 21.8 inches for hyperfocal distance from 12 inches to infinity. However, on the lens, I need to be close to infinity.

So, something isn’t right…most likely, it’s my calculation.

In any case, I got such a great deal on the lens…and considering the frequency of use, it’s probably going to stay in my bag but I’ll lug it along everywhere.

If *I’m* shooting, I bring my three primes (25/2.8, 35/3.5 macro, 8/3.5 fisheye), but if I know that someone else may use my camera, then I’ll bring my two zooms (14-54/2.8-3.5 and 40-150/3.5-4.5).

Leave a Reply

