11 – scenes

I got my Olympus E-3 back from Precision Camera, er, Olympus Repair, and it’s good as new. Literally.

After using the E-410 for almost a month, I forgot how TINY the viewfinder of the E-410 is…and I forgot how it’s prone to blown highlights. Anyway, I’m glad I got the E-3 back. Some recent snaps – some from the E-410 and some from the E-3.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis was an LR3 preset that I made – I tried my best to recreate the Grainy B&W Art Filter that I really do miss. Anyway, I think it’s close. Not bad.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASame here. It’s not bad – almost ridiculously close – though I can’t match the fine grain that the Olympus Art Filter can do.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIn this one, the grain is almost invisible (at least to my eyes). It’s nice and punchy though.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd in this one, the bokeh looks a bit distracting. It’s still detailed though and has nice contrast. Below is almost the same picture, but almost SOOC (I added some vignette and a bit of clarity):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnyway, I’m glad to have my E-3 back. After using m4/3 almost exclusively for quite some time, then using an E-410 while the E-3 was in repair, I’ve forgotten how ergonomic and stable a large camera is. Controls are intuitive and there’s no sacrifice of user control for the sake of size. Granted, it’s heavy, but it’s fun to use and it results in wonderful output.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThese are all scenes from my neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

