24 – macro and remote flash

I regained wireless flash capability with the E-3…so I’ve been exploiting it recently. Luckily, Eneloops are rechargeable and I have enough batteries to go through several sessions.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also, the E-3 is weathersealed, so even when it was sprinkling outside this morning, I managed some macro shots. Unfortunately, the FL-36R flash and the ZD 35/3.5 macro aren’t weathersealed…so I had to handle them with care.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI think the only downside with remote flash is not really knowing what the effect of the flash is going to be until after the shot is taken. I had to mount the flash on a tripod and have my son move it around until I got the light directed to where I wanted it to go.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt’s difficult to see how sharp the pictures are at web resolution, but they’re as sharp as I could ask for. Here’s a 100% crop of one of the shots above:

081-100cropYou can see the fine detail of the patio cover reflected off of the waterdrop.

Leave a Reply

