18 – I gotta have more fisheye

I’ve got a fever…and the only prescription…is more fisheye.

P1020517 (Medium)

Yeah, there’s probably something wrong with me. I’m not *supposed* to enjoy a fisheye lens this much. I know that I’ve gone through several different interests with my photography (to go hand-in-hand with the frequent gear catharsis), but I can honestly say that next to macro, shooting with a fisheye, in my opinion, has revitalized the ‘fun’ in my photography.

P1020523 (Medium)

The Samyang 7.5mm fisheye for m4/3 is great because it’s so *small* and turns my GF1 into a very fast point-and-shoot camera with EVERYTHING in focus. Depth of field is immense. Deep. Deeper than the Marianas Trench. Deeper than Justin Bieber’s latest lyrics. OK, maybe that last one was a joke, but seriously, I have *fun* when I shoot with this lens.

P1020559 (Medium)

I love having everything in focus. I think shallow depth of field is way overrated, but at the same time, I don’t want to be walking around with a digital medium format camera and a tripod – unless of course, I hit a windfall and in which case, that Leica S3 with Summarit-S 35/2.5 is mine! Speaking of hitting – I almost hit my head on that propeller blade…the wider the angle, the closer I have to get to my subject and shooting with a fisheye that has an EFL of 15mm is quite intimate. Objects in the mirror are closer than they appear…

P1020573 (Medium)

Anyway, the only downside with shooting with a fisheye – besides accidentally hitting things and getting my feet in the frame – is post-processing. It’s required. There’s no way around it – I have to touch up each keeper for some sort of correction…because ironically, as much as I like shooting with the fisheye, I don’t like how it looks straight out-of-camera. It’s too…bubbly. I love the fisheye effect, but the more I work on a picture, the more obvious the fisheye distortion is.

Leave a Reply

