14 – ramblings

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATimes have changed. When I used to have an ‘idea’, an incandescent lightbulb would appear. Typically, ideas are associated with lightbulbs.

Anyway, in our household, most of our lightbulbs have been converted to CFL’s…so yeah, our house is a little dimmer, but we’re saving just a little bit more electricity every month and we’re reducing our carbon footprint just a little bit as well. Probably not enough to make a tremendous impact, but a little goes a long way. I need to start changing my “idea clouds” to use CFL’s…

In any case, I’m finding the simple design of household objects to be quite interesting lately. Having a manual-focus macro lens helps me to slow down and appreciate my surroundings a bit more.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThings that I take for granted are suddenly becoming more noticeable. Faucets, switches, handles, knobs, buttons – all of these tactile elements of daily life are usually fairly innocuous until I took the time to actually look at them.

As an engineer, I know the amount of work that goes into the design of something. Though industrial designers have a different focus when it comes to their role, there’s still a lot of thought and consideration involved for anything that involves human interaction. I love it when something is aesthetically pleasing for the sake of function.

This may explain why Apple products cost so much – they look great but at the same time, have a very specific purpose. The very first iPod Shuffle comes to mind.

With that said though, I don’t understand why people would wait in line for the release of a phone. I was at the mall briefly on Friday and I encountered the massive line for people waiting to get their hungry mitts on the new iPhone.

Is it truly that important? Does incremental gain in function/performance warrant being a first adopter and the price that goes with it?

Whatevs. I have a $50 phone on a $35/mo plan – my cell phone is incidental to my life, but that’s my personal philosophy.

From a photography perspective, I’ve been called a Luddite on Flickr, and in many ways, I can agree. New technology won’t necessarily improve my photography because ultimately, the photograph, whether seen online or in print, is nothing but the manifestation of my vision, and to be honest, my vision kind of sucks. I don’t have a natural talent or an ‘eye’ for things – it’s something I work on and constantly work on when I take pictures.

I may take a lot of pictures, but the keeper rate is pretty low – for every 100 pictures, I’d say that I’ll decide to process 5 or 10 of them for display. The rest…well, the RAW files will remain in Lightroom and the OOC jpegs are stored somewhere.

Leave a Reply

