12 – fishy

I had traded some lenses for a fisheye (Samyang 7.5mm f/3.5) that I really wanted to have for our recent vacation, but unfortunately, I didn’t receive it until we got back.

I took some shots around the neighborhood and processed them – I think they turned out ok. Fisheye distortion is tricky, but a lot of fun. Additionally, I was able to download a lens-specific profile for LR that allowed me to defish and adjust for rectilinear correction as necessary, so that made processing a lot easier.

Anyway, haven’t posted in a while and honestly, I don’t see myself posting frequently. Too much going on.

Fishy pictures below.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASometimes, fisheye distortion works. Sometimes it doesn’t.

Regardless, it’s a fun lens and it’s TINY – almost pancake-like in size. I was a bit apprehensive since it’s a manual-only lens (manual focus and manual aperture), but with a 7.5mm FOV (15mm FF-equivalent), all I had to do was fix my aperture at f/5.6, set a hyperfocal distance a little before infinity, and everything in the frame about 3 feet and further are in focus…so basically, it’s a very fast lens to shoot with (no need to focus) – just compose and snap.

I’ve owned an UWA-lens before (ZD 9-18 f/4-5.6) and it was a short-lived experiment. I think I’ll hold on to the fisheye for quite some time…

 

Leave a Reply

