10 – converging

When taking pictures, I often look for converging lines since they literally draw the eye towards a focal point.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAEmpty roads that converge to the horizon are usually easy to demonstrate this, however, it’s not always easy to find an empty road that goes on for miles and miles. Lucky for me (or unlucky), I was in Amboy for work again – on the same road I scouted in January – and this time, I took a picture of the road and the mountains.

The picture above doesn’t come close to demonstrating the vast emptiness of Amboy. The road goes on for miles and for the most part, it’s empty until it merges with Route 66.

But, back to converging lines…sometimes, diverging lines work in the same way as converging lines:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rather than draw the eye to a central focal point, looking at the picture above, I feel like my eye is coming from a central focal point and is moving away to where the lines diverge. So, with converging lines, I feel like my eye is moving towards a subject, but with diverging lines, I feel like my eye is moving away.

The sunset over one of my community’s lakes neatly demonstrates this.

Both pictures above were taken with my EPM1 and the BCL-15 lens.

Leave a Reply

