8 – cooked

I’m sometimes a fan of heavily-saturated photos. Sometimes, I think it works when the colors are cooked, though as a photographer, I’m at a disadvantage when the objects in real life are already quite colorful, i.e., farm-fresh strawberries.

3-18

Shannon gets the ripest and freshest fruit from our local farmers’ markets every week and since the fruit is fresh, they need to be consumed right away. This isn’t a problem – the two growing kids in our household eat so much. I fear their teenage years, but I generally fear teenagers regardless of their ability to consume mass quantities of organic fruit, but I digress.

3-17Back to color – sometimes, the flowers in our backyard need a little help. I may have overdone the saturation in the picture above, but I dunno. I like it. Truth be told, I didn’t consciously adjust the color – I tweaked the “Vibrance” and “Clarity” adjustments in Lightroom to get the desired look.

3-16

But, the color Green is usually pretty easy to get correct. Sara was spraying the plants in the backyard and she pointed out the bubble in the bubble, so I got it before it dripped away.

For all of the macro shots above, I used my trusty Olympus E-1 with the ZD 35/3.5 macro lens. I used either an LED ring light or an off-camera flash to get the exposure correct. I find that also adjusting the Blacks slider to the left in the Tone section of Lightroom helps to add depth when the picture has been effectively flattened by a flash.

Anyway, I felt that I needed a break from square grainy B&W. I always enjoy taking the occasional macro with a good hefty camera – something that means business. The E-1 with SHLD-2 grip, lens, and attached lighting probably weighed about five pounds.

Stable – yes.

Meant to be taken out for candid shots – nope.

 

Leave a Reply

