36 – thanks

Lots to be thankful for today…well, actually, every day. I can’t list everything out, but suffice it to say, we’re truly blessed with what we have, and for that matter, what we don’t. These lines from Garth Brooks (yeah, well, what can I say, I’ve been spending quite a bit of time in Texas lately) kind of hits home:

Sometimes I thank God for unanswered prayers
Remember when you’re talkin’ to the man upstairs
That just because he doesn’t answer doesn’t mean he don’t care
Some of God’s greatest gifts are unanswered prayers

There may be times when I wish that I had more or lived in a house that didn’t have shared walls or did something else for a living, but I can’t complain. I shouldn’t.

Anyway, on to the pictures.

Legos. Lots of them – almost all of them are hand-me-downs, but they don’t need batteries and can create a lot of imaginative play. I made a Lego cell phone and Kindle for the kids, and they’ve been texting each other. I also made name signs for them, but they turned into trucks.

Speaking of kids, when they don’t play together, they’re finding their own niches. Sara can immerse herself in arts and crafts and Matty loses himself in books. All the kids (myself included) share a common joy of being outside – lately, it’s been riding our scooters.

My scooter converts to a longboard, and so far, I haven’t eaten it yet. I had to adjust the trucks so I can carve turns, but it’s not safe to ride a longboard on sidewalks – I can’t turn or stop fast enough.

Anyway, I’m out for a 25-mile Thanksgiving morning ride…I’m going to attempt Shady Canyon and 1,000 feet of elevation gain – but I figure, I gotta burn calories in preparation for tonight’s dinner.

In closing, some shots from yesterday’s outing.

We’ve lived in our community for almost ten years, and this was the first time we visited the gazebo on the lake closest to our house. Those seats are pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

