31 – ruined

Our recent vacation to the Monterey Bay Aquarium has forever ruined our annual membership to the Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific. There’s no comparison. The aquarium at Monterey is *infinitely* better. I took the kids to the aquarium in Long Beach today and truth be told, even the kids seemed a bit bored.

It’s sad to say, but it’s similar to other experiences – once you have personal knowledge of something that’s the epitome of your experience, then that great experience will become the standard and the likelihood of partaking in lesser experiences is diminished.

I used to love steak at Black Angus and Outback…until Ruth’s Chris. I used to love steak at Ruth’s Chris until my first taste of Wagyu Beef at Alexander’s Steakhouse in Silicon Valley. I’ve since had Ruth’s Chris and frankly, it was good, but meh, I’ve had better.

Nevertheless, I’m not afraid of trying new things. I’ll never know if there’s something better if I don’t seek it out. I have driven the ultimate driving machine, but I can still dream of driving cars with engines in the back.

However, there are some things that I do hold sacred and won’t deviate from. My kids – they’re awesome. Sure there are plenty of other kids in the world, but only my kids can be who they are.

Anyway, it looks like I’m about ten posts behind from last year’s Project52. I’m going to have to start doubling up on posts for a few weeks…

Leave a Reply

