14 – windfall

I didn’t win the lottery yesterday, so I guess my land bridge from Kobe, Japan to my house in Irvine won’t be built anytime soon. In case you’re wondering, the land bridge would be there so that Wagyu cattle can stroll across and make their way to me. Of course, they would be pampered and fed beer and massaged and I’d even hire a boy-band to sing to them while they casually strolled over…I wouldn’t go crazy though – Justin Bieber is still pretty pricey, so maybe I’d hire Il Divo or the struggling members from the NKOTB. If I were a half-billionaire, I wouldn’t settle for just “Kobe-style” beef. Nope, no half-bred Wagyu/Angus for me.

So, even though I’m not swimming in money, I’m swimming in the joys of a good and normal life. Let me list them below:

  • My kids and my wife. ’nuff said.
  • It rained a bit and I was able to take pictures of raindrops. That’s always fun.
  • I only worked three 12-hour days last week.
  • I can eat anything I want and I’m not limited to lemon juice, maple syrup, and cayenne pepper.
  • No barking from the dogs, no smog, and mama cooked a breakfast with no hog. Oh wait, that’s Ice Cube’s good day, not mine.
  • I only needed to put 8.5 gallons in my Civic – 34 MPG baby!

So, it looks like I’m going to have to work hard, struggle through life’s ups and downs, be frugal, and live within my means. I’m going to have to desire what I already have rather than what I don’t have. I’m going to have to be satisfied with living in south central Irvine. I’m going to have to tolerate the fact that I share walls with noisy neighbors and our backyard is 10’x10′. I’m going to have to save up for vacations, bring leftovers to work, and buy clothes only when they’re on sale – yes, this explains why most of my clothes are loud and bright – I’ve just gotten used to wearing the clothes that nobody in their right mind would want to wear in public.

I’ve never had it bad. I’ve actually got it quite good. I may envy the material things that other people have, but at the end of the day, I can’t wait to come home to my family. I don’t need half a billion dollars for that feeling.

Leave a Reply

