07 – hotels

I hate hotel hallways because they always freak me out…I don’t know – the idea of long hallways, anonymous neighbors in the next room, and someone going in my room every day to clean up after me has never been something I’ve looked forward to.

But that’s what I faced for two weeks on company travel.

Two weeks away from home wasn’t a big deal when I first started my career 12 years ago. Back then, I was single, a new college grad, and was traveling 50% of the time. Everything was a new experience and I was the new kid on the block. I went out for dinner every night because I had few responsibilities and I didn’t care what I ate; I could eat steak every night because I didn’t feel it the next day.

Now, I have a family. I’m also ‘seasoned’, so chances are, whatever it is, I’ve seen it before. I also have a lot of responsibility now, so I can’t spend three hours looking for a place to sit down and eat.

Instead, I had Subway or a Wendy’s salad almost every night – I didn’t eat anything heavy and I didn’t have a single beer.

Basically, as soon as I left work, I’d pick up food, go to my room, eat quickly, then start my emails or documents. Somewhere in there, I’d also get a call or videochat from home. When I finished my emails, I’d go to sleep…and sleep for about 5-6 hours before doing it all over again.

I’m usually busier when I’m on travel compared to when I’m at home. Since there’s nothing to look forward to in my hotel, I don’t have a reason to leave work or stop working. Luckily, my coworkers had families and schedules too, so I didn’t work late nights in the lab…

Also, I hate living out of a suitcase. I actually unpacked clothes and put them in the shelves this time though…I had two weeks worth of clothes!

But, this is life. I have to live it because I made the choice to pursue this career. In every company I’ve worked for in this industry, I’ve always had mentors or managers helping me along the way and encouraging me to grow and be better.

Nowadays, I find that I’m that person trying to get others to seek beyond their limits and learn more. I’m not very good at it. With some people that I like, yes, I think I’m effective…but with people that I don’t exactly see eye-to-eye with, well, I can be an effective bitch.

I don’t exactly have a filter when it comes to things that leave my mouth or my emails. I’d make a horrible politician or lawyer.

My wife says that I’m not a liar because it’s painfully obvious when I lie. So, I just speak my mind.

Anyway, it’s good to be home.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

