46 – growing pains

Matty lost his fourth tooth a few days ago and tonight, he said that there’s another loose tooth.

I don’t envy him. I don’t envy the changes his body will go through for the next 10 – 14 years. I don’t envy how puberty will hit him and make him even more awkward than he already is (what can I say, he’s my son, so I passed down my awkwardness).

I don’t know what the the next ten years will be like for him or for Sara. I know that Shannon and I are not raising the kids the same way we were raised – that’s both good and bad. But, it’s us and we’re doing it. It’s the best we can do. The kids are healthy, happy, and have parents who love them, no matter how frustrating they are.

Time will tell, eh?

In other news, I’m growing particularly lackadaisical with Project52. I’m 46 weeks in and I’m feeling like giving up. My camera bag sits in the corner of the living room and I get a chance to use my camera for a few minutes a week. I wish I had more time to shoot. Let me rephrase that – I wish I had a camera for those times when I said to myself, “man, I wish I had a camera right now”. I think there are plenty of opportunities that have presented themselves, but I didn’t have my camera on me.

Should I trade it all and get a smaller pocketable camera and pocket the difference (no pun intended). I mean, it’s not about the camera, it’s about the picture, right?

My E-620 with 25/2.8 pancake is already a ridiculously small SLR, but could I go smaller?

Dare I (gasp!) move to a point-and-shoot just so I can get more pictures? This has really started bugging me lately. I don’t really need a dSLR for my subject matter. I like having it, but I don’t need it…

2 thoughts on “46 – growing pains

  1. Don’t want both. Too much to deal with. I’d rather learn to be very good with one rather than mediocre with two.

    I’m leaning towards getting rid of ALL of my gear and just getting a small pocketable camera with manual controls. I don’t need shallow DoF – I want a good lens and wide angle and quick focusing.

    I don’t like the camera on my phone…and even if I did, there’s a lack of control missing.

Leave a Reply

