45 – motivated

I recently attended a “Get Motivated” seminar this past week at the Staples Center. Though I knew they were going to sell me something, the headline speakers were Colin Powell, Rudy Giuliani, Stanley McChrystal,  Bill Cosby, Joe Montana…just to name a few. So, even though they were schilling a get-rich-quick online investment training seminar (we walked out for most of it), I went anyway.

I heard from many of the speakers I wanted to hear from and their messages still resonate. Let me sum them up:

1. There are good followers just waiting for the right leader. Be that leader.

2. Do everything as if it counts – practice as if it’s the real thing.

3. On your deathbed, would you rather be saying “Wish I had” or “Glad I did”?

4. Communicating sense of purpose will inspire others and yourself.

5. Every conversation should have conviction. Convey your message with all of your emotion.

Other than that, the day was quite the adventure. I rode my bike at 5:30 in the morning for five or so miles to the train station. I then took the train from Tustin to Union Station in Downtown LA. Then, from Union Station, I took the Blue Line a few stops to a transfer. I then transferred onto the Red Line for a stop.

I left the house at 5:30 AM and arrived at Staples Center at 8:00 AM.

I had entertained the idea of taking the train and commuting to  a job in downtown LA. Well, let’s just say that idea has been obliterated. As tempting as that job was, that commute, even if I got used to it, just takes way too much time. Sure I could get things done on the train to and from…but I don’t know.

Anyway, I brought my 11-22 WA lens along for the trip. The shot above was taken in the Staples Center…it was pretty dark, so I had to do some exposure compensation in post-processing, along with getting rid of some noise and some color corrections. I should have taken more pictures outside, but for some reason, I was so conscious of my camera looking up and taking pictures of the architecture…

In any case, I left my bike at the train station. I hope it’s still there. A full-size 26″ men’s cruiser does NOT fit in a 2009 Honda Civic sedan, no matter how you try to fold the seats.

Leave a Reply

