42 – frustration

Last week was one of the toughest weeks I’ve ever faced during my entire career. I had to wear several ‘hats’ at once and make decisions that may have satisfied one party’s needs but did not satisfy the other’s (there were several others) and whatever decision I made, it would be seen as a company decision, even though it was mine.

I don’t take direction from multiple people at the same time regarding the same thing very well. I don’t think many people would. If business development tells you one thing, engineering tells you another, and the customer tells you another, which one do you choose?

In the end though, everything worked out. Having developed a great working relationship with our customer, they were quite understanding and open to the approach we chose. I guess it worked out so well that the customer asked for me to come back out, so after a week of travel, I spent the weekend at home and I’ll be flying out later tonight to provide three more days of support.

Leave a Reply

