39 – catharsis

That’s a picture of my camera bag. It’s devoid of lenses except for the ZD35/3.5 attached to my E-620 used to take the picture.

After my last trip to Canada and the knowledge of an impending trip to New Mexico, it dawned on me that my Sigma 18-50/2.8, though extremely sharp, isn’t really a travel lens. Similarly, I’ve taken the 35/3.5 on travel with good results, but I had issues with putting the camera into another bag, so basically, *any* lens attached to my E-620 would be too big.

So, I entertained the thought of selling it all and moving to m4/3’s, specifically, getting an E-PM1, VF-2, and the new 45/1.8.

I ended up just selling my ZD50/2.0 and the Sigma 18-50/2.8 and swapping them for the ZD25/2.8 pancake and the 11-22/2.8-3.5 WA.

Why? The pancake is miniscule. I had it before but didn’t appreciate it for what it was – a *small* lens. At the time, my definition of a good picture was a sharp picture. But now, my definition of a good picture is one that is well-composed, properly exposed, and captures a good interesting subject.

So, I got it again. It would make a wonderful travel lens with the E-620.

The 11-22…well, I’ve always wanted it. After having the 9-18 for several months and then, losing those focal lengths altogether, I started missing shooting in the wide…but I also wanted a relatively fast lens. So, the 11-22/2.8-3.5 was the perfect answer. I traded my ZD50/2.0 and a few bucks for it – not a bad trade. I never really hit it off with the ZD50/2.0. Sure it’s a great optic, but the focal length is a bit too long for me.

Anyway, I broke even in the end…and I still keep my favorite 35/3.5 macro so I can still take pictures like this:

Leave a Reply

