21 – stuff

The above stuff is usually what I have on me whenever I leave the house – my watch, my phone, and my wallet.  I have chapstick on hand more often now too, ever since my bout of severely chapped lips from a winter trip to Calgary a few years ago. I also usually have keys, but I try to take the keys out and put them somewhere as soon as I get to my cube or at home.

My wallet is kind of fat too. I need to thin it out and get rid of all the receipts and paper and coupons and unused cards. I’m sure my back will thank me for it.

It’s not just my everyday stuff that needs thinning out – my photography gear is starting to accumulate and I don’t like it. I’m going to get rid of a couple of lenses – the ZD 9-18/4-5.6 UWA and ZD 40-150/4-5.6 telephoto. I know I just got the UWA lens, but it’s a one-trick pony. I learned how to use it, figured it out, but I can’t figure out how to make it work in normal photo opportunities. Yeah it beat me. I can’t say I mastered it, but I can say that I can’t use it whenever I want to. Same goes for the telephoto. It’s nice to have, but I find that I’m only using it because I have it, not because I want to use it. I’m also getting rid of my battery grip and some other crap (ultraclamp, ballhead, filters, macro flash mount…). All in all, I hope to get enough to purchase the ZD 12-60/2.8-4. It’s a standard zoom, but it covers the ranges I’ll probably use the most and I can get away with just that and the ZD 35 macro in my bag. We’ll see…

Leave a Reply

